Sri Lankans uncanny facts and my present steam of thoughts,

The world has been my new home for almost 4 months now. I stayed in many different places, packing and unpacking is becoming natural. It actually consists on opening my board bag and throwing everything I own in it. Like a snail I see my bags now as my new home. The more I travel the more I want to leave stuff behind. It is quite an exhilarating feeling to actually leave your apartment without being sure of where you will be for the next 1 to 10 years. So today well actually tonight I would like to write about what I learn about Lanka and also about myself lately.

Lankans are a bit rough on the first encounter; service is surely not in there first nature. They are smart and tough negotiator; some are quite the ‘filou’ type. For instance the owner of the place I’m staying at would tell the Russian couple that just arrived that the AC is broken in the all hotel in order to save the money from the electricity bill. But like Amsterdam, yes the city, Lankans will grow on you. This is something I came to realize in the past few days. As soon as they feel that you are coming back, try to speak their language and just be plain nice, you will see their true nature. You will always have a table even if it is plain busy, they will let you do your latte behind the bar the way you like it. Your Tuk-tuk driver will ask you to stop paying him and will negotiate prices for you and that is quite something to witness. They teach me words in Singali everyday and expect me to understand thing beyond what I have learned it is a really swell feeling. latte

Another thing I have learnt about Lanka is why the bus-drivers drive like Enzo Ferrari on crack. This is due to the way they are paid. They are actually racing each other in order to be the first one at the next stop. This because they are commissioned on the number of people they get on the bus and the amount of trips they do in a day. This makes the Galle road look like a game of Mario kart especially when your tuk-tuk driver thinks he is Yoshi and wants to overtake the bus by the third lane.

bus

What have I learnt about myself? Well lately I came to realize that the corporate world made me tougher than what I like. Don’t get me wrong I learnt a lot and met amazing people that I will keep as friends for a long time. But having to reach a target every week, the pressure of the last years, the vibe is something I do not miss. I believe that the capitalist world, system that has a lot of things to offer, place us in a sort of a rat race position that only a few can win or trick-out. Let me explain: You do great studies, get a well paid job that will allow you to go to the bank and ask for a loan for a beautiful house were your kids will grow… Then all of a sudden you need that paycheck at the end of the month and this is when you’re hooked. Again as any other 33 years old dude I like to drive a nice car, buy hip clothes, party with my friends but not at the price of being in a golden cage. There is a quote from Buffett that says something like: ‘Find the earliest you can, different ways of financing your life’. I think this is something a lot of us don’t do, hence my point about the golden cage…

So yeah you may ask, am I still a bit sour with people? Well I feel that everyday makes me a bit more mellow and old part of myself that I welcome again. May be the waves are washing the suit of my skin ;).

By rereading this post I do realize I’m fing darn lucky enough to have the chance to reflect on this issue.

See you soon in the world yours truly T Bagous,

Windows boat

Leave a comment