SRI LANKA what to pack

Hello my dearest, My hopes are that you are doing awesome! I have been living, eating, dreaming and laughing in Lanka for a month now. This is what I think you should pack in order to cruise in this beautiful country. What to pack general:

  1. SUNSCREEN, you know the song from Baz Lhurmann – Everybody’s Free To Wear Sunscreen: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTJ7AzBIJoI&list=RDsTJ7AzBIJoI#t=24. This is most definitely true in Lanka as a matter of fact a lot of this song is true for the rest of your life ;). Anyhow the sunscreen you can get here washes off as soon as she sees a drop of seawater. I was lucky enough that one of the caring people in my life gave me Daylong sunscreen swiss brand that avoided me to look and feel like a red lobster. You can see a lot ofInstagramCapture_f2e4c652-7670-4e59-9569-22e11ef84f29 those around the beaches here.
  2. SILK SLEEPING BAG, if you travel around Lanka you will at some point probably see, certainly smell and sleep in the worst bed you ever did. At this time if you have read this post, travelled to Lanka and taken this advice you will most def want to pay me a beer the next time you see me.
  3. MINI SWISS ARMY KNIFE, indeed you surf over some reef and rocks a lot of the time this means that at some point your delicate feet will be caress by urchin needle. Facing that specific encounter you will be more than pleased to use the tweezers hide in the side of the knife.

Daylong What to pack for surfers:

  1. EXTRA SET OF FINS, I didn’t see any FCS2 fins in the look a like surf shops that crossed my path. Lankian reef is really keen to chew on some brand new your fins especially if you don’t know the way out… You know that feeling when you go full speed back to the beach after a good session just lazy lying on your board letting a small wave carry you. Then you hear a big “CLUNK” this the sound of the reef grabbing a byte at your new set of FCS ;)…
  2. REPAIR KIT OR SOLAREZ, some of the repair I have seen here makes my own repair look like the work of Leonardo Da Vinci.ding rep
  3. WAX, not easy to come by as soon as you go out of Hikkaduwa and the local one rub of like butter under the sun. Check the smile on the local’s kid faces when you give them a piece of your imported wax, priceless…
  4. LAST GENERATION AWESOME FLEX BOARDSHORT, you know what I mean the one you wear and that you don’t even feel: The Phantom from Hurley or the Psycho freak from O’Neill… The empire of capitalism and the surf dollar industry has not yet reached the shore of the island. You will find fakes for sure but they aren’t flex at all and they are ball’s rash in one session guaranteed…

Sincerely yours Tony Bagus Windows palmtreees

Leave a comment